Select Page
Photo: Class photo at the SoVS November 2017 graduation

The graduation ceremony was held at the Aotea Centre on 24 November 2017 for our Bachelor of Optometry where our graduands were awarded their degrees. A class photo was taken in the Aotea Square prior to the ceremony and then there was an after-function held at the Grand Millennium Hotel where staff, students, and families came together to celebrate. This was the first time we had joined with the rest of the graduation.

We would like to congratulate the following graduands:

The Anna Pritchard Prize for Optical Dispensing was awarded to Sean Mahendran as the student who achieved the highest grade in Optical Dispensing.

The Raymond Harry Hawkins Prize in Undergraduate Optometry Research was awarded to Jing Chen for the best project in Course OPTOM 570.

The NZCO Prize (1st in Project Presentation) was awarded to Theantay Keo and Kishan Mistry for highest marks for Part V, OPTOM 570 project presentations: 1st place

The NZCO Prize (2nd in Project Presentation) was awarded to Joyce Mathan, Bridget Field, Bianca Davidson as the students with the highest marks for Part V, OPTOM 570 project presentations: 2nd place

The Excellence in Clinical Optometry Prize (donated by Chee Loh) was awarded to Sharifeh Safdari for the highest aggregate mark across OPTOM 510, OPTOM 520, and OPTOM 560 on the first attempt.

The Dean’s Medal was awarded to Bianca Davidson as the graduand who made an outstanding contribution to the academic development of the faculty during her Optometry studies.

The Senior Scholar was also awarded to Bianca Davidson. This award was made by University Council based on the Head of School’s recommendation to students eligible to graduate with an undergraduate degree and has achieved the top GPA’s over their last 90 or more points of their degree. They must have achieved a minimum GPA of 6.5 or at least an A- average across their courses in Part V.