Select Page

Photo: from left – Dr John Phillips, Celine Fung, Muthana Noori, Phillip Riley, Mary Rush, Dr Monica Acosta

On Friday 22 November a celebration was held at our school to congratulate Part V BOptom students upon completion of their studies. The Anna Pritchard Prize for Optical Dispensing was awarded to Mary Rush, who was also amongst the winners of the New Zealand College of Optometrists (NZCO) prize for best project presentation along with Muthana Noori, Celine Fung, and Philip Riley. Students also practised reading the healthcare practitioners’ oath in English and Te Reo Māori as a group in preparation for the Graduation Ceremony.

At the formal ceremony, Muthana was awarded the Dean’s Medal and the prize for Excellence in Clinical Optometry, and Aimee Aitken was awarded the Raymond Harry Hawkins Prize in Undergraduate Optometry Research. Graduation was a joyous occasion; the staff of the School of Optometry and Vision Science offer sincere congratulations to all graduating students and best wishes for their new careers.